Principal Investigators & Consultants

Svitlana Mayboroda writing on chalkboard
Collaboration Director, Principal Investigator

Svitlana Mayboroda is the Northrop Professor of Mathematics at the University of Minnesota. Her expertise lies in harmonic analysis, geometric measure theory, and partial differential equations, as well as an extended range of applications of these fields ranging from condensed matter physics to materials science to engineering.

Douglas Arnold
Principal Investigator

Douglas N. Arnold is the McKnight Presidential Professor of Mathematics at the University of Minnesota. His research interests are in computational mathematics, centered on the design and analysis of numerical algorithms for partial differential equations and their application to physical problems ranging from the deformation of elastic shells to the collision of black holes.

Alain Aspect
Principal Investigator

Alain Aspect is a professor at Institut d'Optique Graduate School (Augustin Fresnel chair), and at Ecole Polytechnique, in Palaiseau, France. He is an experimentalist in Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics, whose interests bear on basic quantum phenomena. His thesis on experimental tests of Bell's inequalities has settled a debate initiated by Bohr and Einstein 50 years earlier, and marked the start of the vibrant field of quantum information science. This work has been selected as the “Physical Review Milestone Letter” of the year 1981.

Guy David
Principal Investigator

Guy David is a Professor of Mathematics at the Université de Paris Sud, Laboratoire de Mathematiques d’Orsay. His main areas of expertise are in Harmonic analysis, Geometric measure Theory, and the Calculus of Variations.

Marcel Filoche
Principal Investigator

Marcel Filoche is CNRS Research Director in Condensed Matter Physics at Ecole Polytechnique. His research interests are in the physics of complex and disordered geometries, with an emphasis on wave localization and absorption in complex structures, and transport in the pulmonary airway system at the biomedical interface. He graduated from Ecole Polytechnique in 1985 and obtained his PhD in Physics from Université Paris-Sud Orsay in 1991.

Sir Richard Friend
Principal Investigator

Sir Richard Friend holds the Cavendish Professorship of Physics at the University of Cambridge. His research encompasses the physics, materials science and engineering of semiconductor devices made with carbon-based semiconductors, particularly polymers. His research advances have shown that carbon-based semiconductors have signifcant applications in LEDs, solar cells, lasers, and electronics.

David Jerison
Principal Investigator

David Jerison is Professor of Mathematics at MIT. His research interests are in Fourier analysis and partial differential equations. Jerison has written one dozen articles in top journals (Acta Math, Annals of Math, Inventiones, and Journal of the AMS). With Carlos Kenig, he made fundamental contributions to the theory of Harnack inequalities and harmonic measure in nonsmooth and fractal domains and to the theory of Carleman inequalities.

Yves Meyer
Principal Investigator

Yves Meyer, professor emeritus at the Ecole Normale Supérieure Paris-Saclay in France, proves that, in contrast to what F. Scott Fitzgerald said about American lives; in mathematics a life can indeed have a second act, and perhaps even several more. Having made important contributions in the field of number theory early in his career, Meyer’s boundless energy and curiosity prompted him to work on methods for breaking down complex mathematical objects into simpler wavelike components – a topic called harmonic analysis.

James Speck
Principal Investigator

James S. Speck is a Professor in the Materials Department at the University of California Santa Barbara. He received his B.S.M.E. degree in metallurgical engineering from the University of Michigan in 1983 and his S.M. and Sc.D. in materials science from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1985 and 1989, respectively.

Claude Weisbuch
Principal Investigator

Claude Weisbuch is Distinguished Professor in the materials department of University of California at Santa Barbara and Directeur de Recherche emeritus at the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) at Ecole Polytechnique. He has held positions at University of Paris, and in various industries, at Bell Laboratories, Saint-Gobain and Thomson-CSF (now Thales).

Shujina Kamura

Shuji Nakamura was born on May 22, 1954 in Ehime, Japan. He obtained B.E., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering from the University of Tokushima, Japan in 1977, 1979, and 1994, respectively. He joined Nichia Chemical Industries Ltd in 1979. In 1988, he spent a year at the University of Florida as a visiting research associate. In 1989 he started the research of blue LEDs using group-III nitride materials. In 1990, he developed a novel MOCVD system for GaN growth, which was named Two-Flow MOCVD.

Jill Pipher

Jill Catherine Pipher is the president-elect of the American Mathematical Society, and will begin a two-year term in 2019. She is the past-president of the Association of Women in Mathematics (AWM, 2011–2013), and she was the first director of the Institute for Computational and Experimental Research in Mathematics (ICERM, 2011–2016), an NSF-funded mathematics institute based in Providence, Rhode Island.

Terrence Tao

Terence Tao is an Australian-American mathematician working at the University of California, Los Angeles, focusing, among other areas, on harmonic analysis, partial differential equations, algebraic combinatorics, arithmetic combinatorics, geometric combinatorics, compressed sensing and analytic number theory. Professor Tao was awarded a Fields Medal in 2006 “for his contributions to partial differential equations, combinatorics, harmonic analysis and additive number theory.”